For more information and to enrol contact us today! (03) 9687 1535

School Council

A council dedicated to improving our school


Being a member of Footscray West Primary School Council is a rewarding way to be involved with the school and the community.

All Government schools in Victoria have a School Council.  School Councils are legal entities with responsibility for:

> Developing the school’s Strategic Plan

> Approving the Annual Budget

> Setting and Reviewing policies
School Councils do not manage the day to day running of the school.  That job is reserved for the Principal.

Click here for further information on the role of School Councils

Parents are welcome to attend and observe School Council (please contact the Principal in advance) or sub-committee meetings, (with the exception of Finance) but only elected members are eligible to vote.  Times and dates of upcoming meetings are available in the weekly Newsletter, the Calendar, or by contacting the office.


Our School Council is required to have fifteen members.  At Footscray West this includes five office bearers:

> President
> Vice President
> Executive Officer
> Treasurer
> Minute Secretary

Members consist of parents and Department of Education and Early Childhood Education (DEECD) employees.  The majority of members are required to be parents.  There is also an option to    co-opt a member from the wider community who may have skills or experience of value to the school.


Footscray West Primary School Council has five Sub-committees:

> Policy and Planning
> Finance
> Facilities
> Fundraising
> Communications

Councillors are expected to join at least two sub-committees.

There is also a Parents and Friends’ group, which is accountable to school council.

Elections are held at the start of each year.  Each sitting member serves a term of two years, enabling half the membership to come up for election each year.  Notification of upcoming elections is made in the Newsletter.

Prospective councillors must complete and return a nomination form to the Principal within seven days of a notice of election being posted. If more nominations are received than there are vacancies a ballot will be conducted two weeks after the call for nominations has closed.

Contact the office for further information or if you wish to stand for election.  Further details about School Councils are available from DEECD, or you can contact the office and make an appointment to speak with the School Council President or the Principal.

2019 School Council Members:


> Marcus Hildebrand (President)
> Suzanne Bourne (Vice President)
> Mel Shackell (Treasurer)
> Tania King (Minutes Secretary)
> Tibor Kovacs
> Andrew Newman
> Darren Bennett
> Tristan Andrews
> Andrew Charles


> Brendan Millar (Executive Officer)
> Caren Taylor
> Anne Reciszen
> Lyn Wilkinson
> Libby Buck

Sub-Committees of school council and their convenors are:

Finance: John Dinh
Facilities: Brendan Millar
Communication: Caren Taylor
Policy and Planning: Anne Reciszen
Fundraising: Brendan Millar



Back To Top